Renowned conductor Andrés Orozco-Estrada will make his debut on the 10th of May, performing the likes of Mozart and Bartók with Valencia’s own orchestra: Orquesta de la Comunidad Valenciana.

On Wednesday the 10th of May at 19:30h, Viennese-trained Colombian conductor, Andrés Orozco-Estrada, will make his debut with the Orquesta de la Comunidad Valenciana (OCV), at Valencia’s majestic opera house, the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofía. Considered one of the most prominent names currently on the international scene, Orozco-Estrada has led an ascending career that has led him to regularly conduct prestigious ensembles such as the Berlin, Israel, London and Vienna Philharmonic Orchestras; the Staatskapelle Dresden; the Gewandhaus Orchestra Leipzig; the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra; the French National Orchestra; the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, and the Orchestra of the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia.

Between 2014 and 2021, Orozco-Estrada held the position of chief conductor of the Frankfurt Radio Symphony, a position he also combined with that of music director of the Houston Symphony (2014-2022) and chief conductor of the Vienna Symphony (2020-2022). From the 2025-2026 season, he will take over as Music Director of the Cologne Opera and the Gürzenich-Orchester Cologne.

It is of no surprise therefore that even the harshest of Austrian critics describe the Colombian as the ‘miracle of Vienna’. Renowned for his energy, elegance, and expertise, the public amaze at his conducting masterpieces, and deeply appreciate his ability to openly communicate and connect with the public from the podium, transforming his concerts into ‘a unique experience’.

To mark his first performance with the OCV, Orozco-Estrada has selected two essential works from the symphonic repertoire: ‘Jupiter Symphony’ by Mozart, and ‘Concerto for Orchestra’ by Bartók; two pieces that will mirror the prestigious quality of the Palau de les Arts.

For some additional context, Mozart composed ‘Symphony No.41’, his last symphony, in the summer of 1788, just three years before his death. This four-movement piece stands out due to its majestic and grandiloquent sound, which supposedly inspired the violinist and impresario Johann Salomon to nickname it ‘Jupiter’ after the Roman god. Almost two centuries later, in 1943, Bartók, who was suffering from leukaemia, composed his famous ‘Concerto for orchestra’. Although this piece is more similar to a symphony due to the use of a full orchestra, the Romanian decided to call it a ‘concerto’ because of the emphasis on the soloists.

Overall, the evening will mark a special introduction to the Orquesta de la Comunidad Valenciana, and with the musical talent and execution of Andrés Orozco-Estrada, it will promise to be a remarkable show, especially for those who love classical music.

Tickets: Concert ANDRÉS OROZCO-ESTRADA | Seat selection | Les Arts (

Report by Melissa McCrow

Article copyright ‘24/7 Valencia’

AUDITORI | Wednesday, May 10th, 2023, 19:30h

Address: Palau de Les Arts Reina Sofia

Professor Lopez Pinero Avenue, 1

46013, Valencia

Website: Les Arts – Un camí d’emocions

Ticket prices for this evening range from 30 to 45 euros. Under 28s can get tickets for a special price of 10 euros for the season’s symphony concerts.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

24/7 Valencia

24/7 Valencia is the definitive English Speaking guide to Valencia. Extensive Listings, up-to-date and informed articles on restaurants, chill out, clubland, football, culture, arts, books, woman and much more.
Languages »
error: Content is protected !!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This